Community News

Briefings on Climate CoLab 2010 contest at UN and U.S. Congress


In December 2010, representatives of the winning teams from the Climate CoLab 2010 contest attended briefings held at the United Nations and the U.S. Congress.

The UN briefing was on Thursday, December 2 with Janos Pasztor, Director of the UN Secretary-General’s Climate Change Support Team and Head of Secretariat of the Global Sustainability Panel (GSP), along with his colleagues.

Representing the winning teams were Christophe Chung and Shoko Takemoto (Overcoming the North-South Divide proposal), Arthur Geuneau (Realistic Climate Proposal), and Dennis Peterson (Carbon Rights proposal). MIT Professor Thomas Malone and Robert Laubacher attending the briefing as representatives of the Climate CoLab project staff.

The Congressional briefing was on Tuesday, December 7 with Jeff Sharp, a staff member of the Select Committee on Energy Independence and Global Warming of the House of Representatives, and a group of other Congressional staffers.

At this briefing, the same people who attended the UN meeting represented the North-South Divide proposal, the Carbon Rights proposal, and the Climate CoLab staff. Timothy Cronin represented the Realistic Climate Proposal team.

A recording of Congressional briefing is available.